European Migration Network

European Migration Network

The European Migration Network (EMN) is an EU co-funded network which was established in 2008 by Council Decision 2008/381/EC as amended by Regulation (EU) No 516/2014 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 16 April 2014 establishing the Asylum, Migration and Integration Fund. The main purpose of the EMN is to provide up-to-date, objective, reliable and comparable information on migration and asylum for the institutions of the European Union as well as its Member States, plus Norway, in order to inform policymaking as well as the wider public and facilitate practical cooperation.

Outputs produced by the EMN Poland assist policymakers at the national and European level in understanding the challenges in the area of migration as well as help the European Commission to decide whether further action at EU level are needed.


The EMN consists of 28 National Contact Points (NCPs) which are established in all participating Member States plus Norway. The National Contact Point is composed of at least three experts. One of these experts acts as the national coordinator. The remaining experts come from either the same entity, or from other national and international public or private organisations based in the Member State. The work of the EMN is co-ordinated by the European Commission (assisted by the service provider – ICF International) which allocates funds to co-finance EMN activities.

Moreover, a Steering Board, chaired by the European Commission and consisting of a representative from each Member State Government, and an observer from the European Parliament, provides political guidance on the activities of the EMN.

The EMN activities include:






















Ministry of the Interior and Administration
European Migration Network
Funded by the EU
go up