European Migration Network


Visa liberalisation: Commission reports on the continued fulfilment of requirements by the Western Balkans and Eastern Partnership countries

On 10 of July Commission reported on the assessment of the fulfilment of the visa liberalisation requirements by Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia and Serbia, as well as Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine. The report concluded that the countries concerned continue to meet the visa liberalisation requirements, and that visa-free movement continues to bring positive economic, social and cultural benefits to EU Member States and partner countries. The report focuses in detail on specific areas of security and migration where further action is needed.

Migration, asylum and border management: all countries assessed continue to take measures to address irregular migration and border protection challenges. Coordination between border authorities and cooperation on readmission and return with all Western Balkan and Eastern Partnership countries remains positive. The overwhelming majority of citizens from the visa-free countries are bona fide travellers with legitimate grounds to travel to the EU. However, further efforts are needed to address ongoing concerns, including through targeted information campaigns on the rights and obligations of visa-free travel.

Public order and security: all countries continued to take measures to prevent and fight against organised crime, including through operational cooperation with Member States' law enforcement authorities. The bilateral arrangements to implement the EU-Western Balkans Joint Action Plan on Counter-Terrorism are an important milestone in addressing key priority areas, including the prevention of all forms of radicalisation and violent extremism, and challenges posed by returning foreign terrorist fighters and their families. However, further efforts are needed to address security concerns due to crime-related challenges, especially in the field of organised crime groups. 

The report follows up on the Commission's obligation under the Strengthened Visa Suspension Mechanism, adopted in March 2017, to monitor the continuous fulfillment of visa liberalisation requirements by third countries and to report to the European Parliament and the Council at least once a year. Today's report is the third under the Visa Suspension Mechanism, following the First Visa Suspension Mechanism Report of December 2017 and Second Visa Suspension Mechanism Report issued in December 2018. Data from this report relates to the 2019 calendar year and first half of 2020. Overall, the visa-free travel scheme has fulfilled its purpose: it has strengthened people-to-people contact between the Western Balkans and Eastern Partnership countries and the EU, including with diaspora communities in the Member States, enhanced business opportunities and cultural exchanges, and enabled the visa-free countries' citizens to get to know the EU better.The assessment of the visa liberalisation benchmarks applies to countries that have successfully concluded visa liberalisation dialogues according to relevant action plans and roadmaps, i.e. some Western Balkan and Eastern Partnership countries. The report focuses on the areas where further work is necessary to achieve sustainable progress. Visa-free travel for citizens of Montenegro, Serbia and North Macedonia has been in place since December 2009. For citizens of Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, visa-free travel is possible since the end of 2010. For Moldova visa-free travel entered into force in April 2014, for Georgia in March 2017 and for Ukraine in June 2017.



Ministry of the Interior and Administration
European Migration Network
Funded by the EU
go up